Creating an invoice
Thread poster: Roy Williams

Roy Williams  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 16:31
German to English
Feb 14, 2008

I'm an in-house translator considering freelancing partime. I just read a forum post concering invoices. How does one create an invoice? Is there software that can help? what information needs to be included and what would be considered unnecessary?

Direct link Reply with quote

Vadim Poguliaev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 17:31
English to Russian
it's quite simple Feb 14, 2008

Invoices are usually freeform, you include client name and address, client VAT, (I usually take those from email signatures=)), project number/PO number/work order - depends on client system, your name and address, your credentials - bank account, or PP ID, or MB ID - based on agreed payment method, and VAT.

However, your client and your government may have some specific requirements regarding invoices, they need to be taken into the account.

Have a nice day
Vadim

uabvertimai
German to Lithuanian
+ ...
Take a sheet of paper... Feb 14, 2008

.. and write down your correct name (not nickname ), full address, the name, address of your client, what you have done*, the delivery dates, how much money you charge for that, VAT, if you work with, and count the total amount. Your tax number or EU- VAT ID is required in Germany, I don´t exactly know in Austria.
That´s all you need.
It make´s much sense also to declare terms of payment like your bank account, the money should be transferred to and the deadline for payment. Other contact details like email or phone number would be nice to make it easy to the costumer to contact you in case of any questions or obscurities.

*Your costumer also might be thankful, if you won´t write ten lines only like

"translation German-English X EUR"