https://www.proz.com/forum/off_topic/11082-question_of_ethics_translated_a_colleague_s_correspondence_and_got_him_in_trouble.html

Question of Ethics - translated a colleague\'s correspondence and got him in trouble
Thread poster: Paul Lambert
Paul Lambert
Paul Lambert  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:19
French to English
+ ...
May 16, 2003

I have a question for anyone who can help me! I work full-time as a Project Manager for an inbound travel company in Scotland. Recently, there was an argument (via e-mail) between my Spanish colleague and one of our suppliers in Spain. I was asked to translate the correspondence, (part of my job here is to translate for the company\'s accounts department), and now my colleague is in a lot of trouble. This has left me feeling rather uncomfortable, especially as we share an office and work toget... See more
I have a question for anyone who can help me! I work full-time as a Project Manager for an inbound travel company in Scotland. Recently, there was an argument (via e-mail) between my Spanish colleague and one of our suppliers in Spain. I was asked to translate the correspondence, (part of my job here is to translate for the company\'s accounts department), and now my colleague is in a lot of trouble. This has left me feeling rather uncomfortable, especially as we share an office and work together on a day-to-day basis.

I am beginning to think that I should have refused to do the translation in the first place - does anyone have any advice for me should this situation arise again?

Thanks!!

Paul
Collapse

Martine Etienne
Martine Etienne  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 14:19
English to French
+ ...
You have only done your job May 16, 2003

I f your translation was correct and if part of your job is to translate, then waht could you have done.

Perhaps, you should explain that to your colleague in front of a cup of coffee and try to help him.

Wish you good luck.

Daina Jauntirans