Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Off topic: A change of scenery - I’d like to be a forest ranger or work outdoors in a nature reserve
Thread poster: Buck

Buck
Netherlands
Local time: 12:40
Dutch to English
Jul 20, 2009

Hi. I’ve been translating for over 15 years and I’m getting itchy feet. I have begun to feel I no longer want to be a translator (work fulltime at an agency and freelance a little on the side). It is no longer satisfying. I have always enjoyed the outdoors and tranquility of nature. Preferably, I’d like to be a forest ranger or work outdoors in a nature reserve. I live in the Netherlands, but the job doesn’t necessarily have to be here, as long as it’s in the EU. I suppose I could freelance at the same time for addtional income if necessary. I’ve done a bit of searching on the Internet, but haven’t found the information yet. Does anyone have any suggestions about where to look? Thanks for your input.

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-07-20 19:14 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Michele Johnson  Identity Verified
Germany
German to English
+ ...
Ökojobs or Schlaf im Stroh? Jul 20, 2009

I assume you are too old to qualify for what they call a "freiwilliges Sozialjahr" in Germany (if they even have that in NL)? To get your foot in the door, you might look at http://www.oekojobs.de/ or http://www.schlaf-im-stroh.de/. Or maybe you would feel more satisfied if you went 100% freelance? Or possibly look into "alternatives Wohnen" / alternative living - where I live, there are a number of communal farm-type living places that are looking for people. If I understand correctly, they have quite a few members who work externally but contribute financially and in-kind to the community farm.

Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Member (2003)
German to Dutch
+ ...
Can't resist Jul 20, 2009

I didn't want to be a barber anyway. I wanted to be... a lumberjack!

(A visonary glow suffuses his face and he begins to walk slowly out of the darkened shop.)