Do I have to be a member?
Thread poster: Lisa103
Oct 8, 2009

Hi. I'm new to Proz.com. At this point, I'm not a member yet. But I wonder if non-member can get the translation job. If there is very little chance for non-member, I think I should become a member... Membership seems a bit expensive.

Please give me some advice!

Thank you.

Lisa

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-10-09 07:53 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Christina Paiva  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 13:14
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Welcome! Oct 9, 2009

Hi Lisa!

Proz.com is a huge site with many resources for translators. I became a member in June, but first I explored the site and learned that besides being able to get jobs, you can learn a lot about translations, translators, get help and help others and make friends!

As a member I get some offers directly to my e-mail and have access to information users don't. But still you can make yourself visible by completing your profile, answering/asking questions at Kudoz, read forums and more

There are other threads where you can get detailed info about membership and jobs.

I tried to find a link for you, but couldn't ..

Anyway, you should start by reading the FAQ section

Have fun

Christina

Edward Vreeburg  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 16:14
Member (2008)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Hi Lisa Oct 9, 2009

If you are a translator you should definately become a member, the Blue Board allows you to check out potential clients so you can see if they are thrustworthy or not. I inscribed muself as a none-paying member in 2002 and I only became a full member in 2008.
And I see all sorts of benefits of the membership (discounts, higher in the ranking).

Basically 1 or maybe 2 jobs will pay for you subscription - it's money well spend!

Ed

Mats Wiman  Identity Verified
Sweden
Member (2000)
German to Swedish
+ ...

Being a member is a very good thing. Oct 9, 2009

Welcome to ProZ.com Lisa!

Christina gave good advice.