Off topic: Romania - Carpathians
Thread poster: Susanna Garcia

Susanna Garcia  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:16
Italian to English
+ ...
Aug 8, 2010

Hi,

This year we're venturing outside our comfort zone and going wildlife watching in the Carpathians, staying in Zarnesti. Does anybody have any advice or experience regarding the area? We're veggie, as in no meat, no fish.

Thanks

Suzi

Direct link Reply with quote

Faruk Atabeyli  Identity Verified
Turkey
Local time: 06:16
English to Turkish
+ ...
Beware Aug 8, 2010

Watch out for the character who says he is from Western Romania and offers blood red tomatoes for free and has his eyes fixed onto your neck. He's not reliable.

Susanna & Christian Popescu GbR
Germany
Local time: 05:16
Romanian to German
+ ...
Romanian cuisine Aug 8, 2010

Well, I have no experience with Zarnesti, which is surely not a priviliged tourism resort, but maybe the following link will help you in finding at least some vegetarian food, as the Romanian cuisine is rather... meat oriented: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romanian_cuisine

I suggest you write down some of the names (like "mamaliga", "balmos" - if you like polenta, or "zacusca" - if you like a spread of grilled red pepper, eggplants and onions on bread, or "salata de vinete", also a paste of grilled eggplants on bread, "urda" or "telemea" - if you like cheese), so that you can ask directly for vegetarian food. Tell your hosts from the beginning that you are vegetarians, so that they don't start preparing traditional food and get disappointed when refused (http://goeasteurope.about.com/od/romania/p/romanianfood.htm).

By the way: if you need more details about the food mentioned, just google the terms.

[Edited at 2010-08-08 21:08 GMT]

Liliana Roman-Hamilton  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:16
English to Italian
. Aug 9, 2010

Hi Suzi

The Carpathian region is absolutely amazing!

Here's a couple of links that might help you about Zarnesti.