Off topic: Robert Benchley, 1889-1945, doyen of American humor, writer, actor, critic
Thread poster: Narasimhan Raghavan
Narasimhan Raghavan
Narasimhan Raghavan  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:41
English to Tamil
+ ...
In memoriam
Aug 28, 2005

I am afraid the present generation (including young translators of course) is not aware of the devastating humor of Robert Benchley. Back in the sixties, when I was an engineering student, many a fellow student took to slowly sliding away from my proximity, as I was prone to break into howls of laughter on reading him while travelling in buses. They didn't want the fellow passengers to associate them with this mad young fellow laughing his head off. I give below some quotes of his. Enjoy a good ... See more
I am afraid the present generation (including young translators of course) is not aware of the devastating humor of Robert Benchley. Back in the sixties, when I was an engineering student, many a fellow student took to slowly sliding away from my proximity, as I was prone to break into howls of laughter on reading him while travelling in buses. They didn't want the fellow passengers to associate them with this mad young fellow laughing his head off. I give below some quotes of his. Enjoy a good weekend.

Quotes taken from http://www.workinghumor.com/quotes/robert_benchley.shtml

1. A dog teaches a boy fidelity, perseverance, and to turn around three times before lying down -- very important traits in times like these. (Chips Off The Old Benchley)

2. A lot of people say: "I'm no good in the morning until I've had my coffee." I'm no good in the morning even after I've had my coffee. (My Ten Years in a Quandary and How They Grew)

3. A man's whole life could be changed by such a fortuitous slip of the rubber...
An electron was a particle of negative electricity (one which knows when to say "No") (Pluck and Luck)