https://www.proz.com/forum/off_topic/45267-unsatisfied_about_my_translation.html

Off topic: unsatisfied about my translation
Thread poster: Maaike van Vlijmen
Maaike van Vlijmen
Maaike van Vlijmen  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 08:09
Member (2009)
Italian to Dutch
+ ...
Apr 18, 2006

Hi all,
I would like to know something...
I am a beginning translator (a so-called "newbie") and until now I had only assignments with normal, that is, doable deadlines (I know, lucky me). But today I had to translate three documents very fast and fortunately I made the deadline. I was very satisfied to have made it, but also very unsatisfied, because it wasn't the best I could have done. Now I even feel a bit sad and worried; maybe the text is horrible. Is it normal to feel unsatisf
... See more
Hi all,
I would like to know something...
I am a beginning translator (a so-called "newbie") and until now I had only assignments with normal, that is, doable deadlines (I know, lucky me). But today I had to translate three documents very fast and fortunately I made the deadline. I was very satisfied to have made it, but also very unsatisfied, because it wasn't the best I could have done. Now I even feel a bit sad and worried; maybe the text is horrible. Is it normal to feel unsatisfied with a very tight deadline? Did you ever hand in a translation you thought wasn't that good? Thanks for your answers!
Maaike
Collapse

Claudia Iglesias
Claudia Iglesias  Identity Verified
Chile
Local time: 02:09
Member (2002)
Spanish to French
+ ...
Learn the lessons Apr 18, 2006

Hello Maaike

We all made (make) mistakes, but you know that they were useful when you also notice that you learned the lessons.

We're Human and therefore might be able to translate our usual amount plus a certain percentage, maybe even increase the output twice for a short period, but our productivity isn't exponential. We have a limited translation capacity.