Off topic: Bilingual relationships
Thread poster: xxxAnna Blackab
xxxAnna Blackab  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:11
German to English
+ ...
Jul 5, 2007

Hi

I'm a journalist (as well as a translator) and am researching an article on bilingual relationships - i.e. where you speak a different mother tongue to your partner. As I'm guessing that quite a few people on proz.com might be in this situation, I thought I'd use this forum to do some research.

If you have had an experience of being in a bilingual relationship, I'd love to hear from you. In particular I'm looking for answers to these questions:

Whose language did you communicate in - yours or your partners - and why?
Are there any positive sides to not speaking the same mother tongue?
Did you ever feel frustrated or misunderstood? When?
In which situations did you most feel the language barrier?
What is it like to argue in a foreign language?

Or any other comments on anything you feel is relevant would be gratefully received.

You can email me at anna.blackaby@linkuplanguages.co.uk

Many thanks

Anna

Direct link Reply with quote

Angeliki Papadopoulou  Identity Verified
Greece
Local time: 22:11
Member (2006)
English to Greek
+ ...
Hi Anna Jul 5, 2007

Many years ago, I spent a couple of years or so in a bilingual relationship and I found that there was more to the differences in language that created the problems.

We did, of course, communicate in his language (yes, you guessed it: English) as fewer people spoke Greek in England at the time than they do now.

The biggest difference came from the disparity in our cultures and I imagine that would play a key role in any "bi-lingual" relationship.

Anne Diamantidis  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 21:11
Member (2007)
English to French
+ ...
Culture... Jul 5, 2007

Hi Anna,