Tips and suggestions needed for translating comments in source code
Thread poster: Kojima

Kojima
Local time: 10:40
Jun 4, 2009

Hi,

I'm in talks for translating comments in source code from Japanese to English. The source apparently has about a million lines. I was not told whether each line has a comment or not (hopefully not, for the sake of the program!), so I'm not sure exactly how much volume to expect.
As you guessed right, I'm pretty new to this. If anyone has experience with this kind of job, can you please share some information? I would appreciate if some light can be shed on the following in particular:

How much time, effort would be required?
What should the charges be?
Are there any tools etc which can be used to make the task more efficient?

Thanks!
Kojima

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-06-04 23:36 GMT]

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 03:40
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Formats? Jun 4, 2009

Kojima wrote:
I'm in talks for translating comments in source code from Japanese to English.

In what format are the source files? MS Word? ODT? Or is it perhaps HTML or some programming language?

Anne Bohy  Identity Verified
France
English to French
surprising request Jun 5, 2009

I would say that the most important, for this kind of job, would be to understand the specific language(s) in which this program is written, because comments are about the program architecture.
Thus, if the comments in a program written by a Japanese or whatever have to be translated into English (which is not that unusual), the programmer will do that. All programmers understand English. The comments may be broken English, because the developer is not a native speaker, but that's OK.
So why on earth would they want a translator to do that?
If it is for contractual reasons and they don't care at all about the contents, go for it.
If other developers have to use the comments later, advise them to use a developer for that.