Daniel Pestana  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 17:48
Member (2010)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Sep 26, 2010

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if any of you knows how to create Macros in Excel. I'm still learning how to master the VBA language, but I can't get this one to work. I'm building a glossary and when I paste the entries into the cells I have several empty spaces prior to the entry itself, for example:

1 [4 empty spaces] shares
2 [6 empty spaces] debentures

I need to create a macro that manages to erase only those empty spaces before the entry, meaning, it should erase the empty spaces until the first character occurs.

Is this possible? Maybe there's a function to do this, but I couldn't find it. I tried to create a small VBA program using TRIM, but it didn't work. Example:

Public Sub RemoveSpaces()
Application.ActiveCell = Trim(Application.ActiveCell)
End Sub

Thanks in advance for your help.
Best.

Narcis Lozano Drago  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 18:48
Member (2007)
English to Spanish
+ ...
One solution Sep 26, 2010

Public Sub RemoveSpaces()
Application.ActiveCell.Value = Trim(Application.ActiveCell.Text)
End Sub

This should do. If you want to remove the spaces before the word use LTrim.

Cheers,

Narcís

[Edited at 2010-09-26 20:06 GMT]

Portugal
Member (2010)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you for your quick reply Narcis Sep 26, 2010

Hi Narcis,

It's a pleasure to e-meet you. Your solution gave me the answer to what was wrong with my code. Thank you. I tried both codes, yours and mine, but unfortunately none of them worked. So here's how I solved the problem:

Sub TrimEText()
' This module will trim extra spaces from BOTH SIDES and excessive spaces from inside the text.
Dim MyCell As Range
On Error Resume Next
For Each MyCell In Selection.Cells
MyCell.Value = Application.WorksheetFunction.Substitute(Trim(MyCell.Value), " ", "")
MyCell.Value = Application.WorksheetFunction.Substitute(Trim(MyCell.Value), " ", "")