Glossaries in Finnish
Thread poster: Viivi

Viivi
Finland
Local time: 12:30
Jul 1, 2010

Hello all!

I have been experimenting with OmegaT, but cannot seem to get glossaries to work.

I have read some threads here, and you seem to recommend changing csv-files into utf8. However, as I work with the Finnish language and need Scandinavian characters, I do not think I can do this.

Is there any way to get English-Finnish and Finnish-English glossaries to work in OmegaT?

Any help is appreciated

Direct link Reply with quote

Susan Welsh  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:30
Member (2008)
Russian to English
+ ...
Using utf8 should not be a problem Jul 1, 2010

I am not an expert, and others may have more to say. But if you follow the instructions in the user's manual EXACTLY, you should have no problem. Unicode encoding is specifically designed to accommodate all alphabets and character sets. I use German and Russian, and don't have a problem.

Susan

Viivi
Finland
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you, but I still need some tips. Jul 1, 2010

Thank you, Susan. I started a glossary from scratch in Open Office Writer, and it works now.

However, I have a .xls-spreadsheet with hundreds of terms, and I would like to use that. Is there any way I could easily convert that to an .utf8-file?

According to the User Manual you should use Open Office Writer and choose Text Encoded .txt when saving the glossary, but there is no Text Encoded .txt option in Open Office Calc.

Any tips on how to proceed with my spreadsheet...?

United States
Member (2008)
Russian to English
+ ...
glossary from spreadsheet Jul 2, 2010

Sorry to answer so late. Here's what I do, from a CALC spreadsheet in OpenOffice:

I just select the whole thing (control A), and copy and paste it into a text file with extension .utf8
Assuming you have it set up with maximum 3 columns, tab delimited, it will work out fine.