OmegaT Segmentation
Thread poster: Jeremy Fuller
Jeremy Fuller
Jeremy Fuller
Japanese to English
Feb 25, 2008

Hello,

I am just getting started in the translation field and I have been testing some CAT programs lately.

I am currently using OmegaT 1.7, and I would like to make two translation segments into one.

I can't find an option in Omega that allows me to do this. Is there some sort of tag that I can add to the text in the target file that specifies segmentation points?

For example, is there something like a tag that I can use?

... See more
Hello,

I am just getting started in the translation field and I have been testing some CAT programs lately.

I am currently using OmegaT 1.7, and I would like to make two translation segments into one.

I can't find an option in Omega that allows me to do this. Is there some sort of tag that I can add to the text in the target file that specifies segmentation points?

For example, is there something like a tag that I can use?

The text is 2 sentences in Japanese (OmegaT makes the sentences separate segments). However, I want to make the English translation 1 sentence. So, I would like the segmentation to match.
Collapse

Marc P (X)
Marc P (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:01
German to English
+ ...
Not possible Feb 25, 2008

Jeremy Fuller wrote:

Hello,

As yet, there is no such segment split/merge function in OmegaT.

You can, of course, make two sentences out of one within a segment, or spread a single sentence over two segments:

This is a segment and it has one sentence.
This is a segment. It originally had one sentence

or

This is a segment.
This is a segment and

It has two sentences.
it originally had two sentences.

For languages with similar syntax, this works on most occasions, and even when it doesn't, it can still be done; it simply results in more or less nonsensical TMs for the segments concerned (but the target text is perfectly serviceable).