https://www.proz.com/forum/poll_discussion/180682-poll_what_do_you_think_about_%22crowdsourced%22_translation.html

Poll: What do you think about "crowdsourced" translation?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Sep 18, 2010

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "What do you think about "crowdsourced" translation?".

View the poll results »

Gianluca Marras
Gianluca Marras  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 05:44
English to Italian
other Sep 18, 2010

I had to search the term: crowdsourcing, and now that I know it, I have to find good and bad results.... so now my answer is I don't know as I have no experience.

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
No idea Sep 18, 2010

Glad to see I'm in the majority and not a mushroom (kept in the dark and fed...).

If it refers to the custom of agencies trawling (sending out job offers to everyone on proz or other sites) rather than approaching me for my services directly, I find it quite irritating when I get these emails from people I have worked with previously, and even more so when I have specifically asked them NOT to send me this type of massive emails. They are usually looking for the cheapest option too
... See more
Glad to see I'm in the majority and not a mushroom (kept in the dark and fed...).

If it refers to the custom of agencies trawling (sending out job offers to everyone on proz or other sites) rather than approaching me for my services directly, I find it quite irritating when I get these emails from people I have worked with previously, and even more so when I have specifically asked them NOT to send me this type of massive emails. They are usually looking for the cheapest option too, so I am generally not interested in haggling, as my rates are low enough for this area.
Collapse

Richard Boulter
Richard Boulter  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:44
Spanish to English
+ ...
crowdsourcing - outsourcing - direct clients Sep 18, 2010