Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4] >
Poll: Have you studied an ancient language?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Nov 2, 2011

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Have you studied an ancient language?".

This poll was originally submitted by Christine Andersen. View the poll results »

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:07
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
Other Nov 2, 2011

The languages I am studying were doomed to "extinction", but are now being revived, such as Lakota, Cheyenne and Cherokee.

These studies are both useful and interesting.

Nicole Schnell
Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:07
English to German
+ ...
In memoriam
Yes Nov 2, 2011

Five years of Latin at school and some ancient Greek as a hobby - priceless in my profession!

Paula Hernández
Paula Hernández
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:07
English to Spanish
+ ...
For my BA Nov 2, 2011

Two years of Egyptian hieroglyphs. Not useful at all for my career.

Martina Pokupec (X)
Martina Pokupec (X)  Identity Verified
Croatia
English to Croatian
+ ...
Yes Nov 2, 2011

I studied Latin for 8 years and ancient Greek for two years and I hated it. I didn't find it useful at all.

Interlangue (X)
Interlangue (X)
Angola
English to French
+ ...
Yes Nov 2, 2011

Latin (6 years) and ancient Greek (5 years) in secondary school.
They shaped my brain, were priceless when studying German and Russian, and are often useful in my profession.

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
Not really Nov 2, 2011

I assume the question refers to what I understand as "the classics" (Latin and ancient Greek), although I don't really consider them "ancient" per se, reserving this definition for older languages like Sanskrit, or Sumerian and Akkadian.