Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: How often do you accept jobs on weekends?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
May 4, 2012

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "How often do you accept jobs on weekends?".

This poll was originally submitted by Firas Allouzi. View the poll results »

Interlangue (X)
Interlangue (X)
Angola
Local time: 15:05
English to French
+ ...
(Very) frequently May 4, 2012

Other people's weekends are not mine and during theirs, I just continue working.
"My weekends" are something else: last weekend was April 19-23 and next "weekend" will be 30 May - 12 June.
As a freelancer, I arrange my time as I please

Mary Worby
Mary Worby  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:05
German to English
+ ...
Rarely May 4, 2012

Only when they are very well paid!

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Very rarely May 4, 2012

And only if the customer pays double - and begs

[Edited at 2012-05-04 08:44 GMT]

Philippe Etienne
Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
English to French
Never May 4, 2012

But for two years, I did work every other weekend for motorsport press releases, paid 50% more. But after a while I felt that even 50% supplemental income wasn't enough compared to the nuisance.

I relate very much to Chris' approach.

And when I am behind schedule, the weekend acts as a padding period where I can absorb backlog. I don't specifically accept or plan any work at weekends. I have other things to do.

Philippe

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Occasionally/frequently May 4, 2012

If and when work comes along...

Nicole Schnell
Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:05
English to German
+ ...
In memoriam
I voted: Other May 4, 2012