Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: Can you make a good living from translation?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Aug 25, 2012

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Can you make a good living from translation?".

This poll was originally submitted by Mary Worby. View the poll results »

Ty Kendall
Ty Kendall  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:05
Hebrew to English
As a theoretical question.... Aug 25, 2012

...Of course you can.

On a practical level,...
I guess it depends on a lot of things. I'm not exactly giving David Beckham's bank account a run for its money yet, but I am only in my first year of 'trading' and starting your own business and getting if off the ground takes a bit longer than that I reckon.

Simon Bruni
Simon Bruni  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2009)
Spanish to English
'Good' depends on your perspective Aug 25, 2012

My wage is very average here in the UK but I appreciate it as a 'good living' because my material needs and wants are low. I think my main aim is to avoid the stress caused by being skint and to be able to enjoy the little free time I have as I please. I achieve this in two ways: earn as much possible doing translations and spend as little as possible on crap I don't need.

For some people a 'good living' might mean being able to buy big houses, posh cars and designer clothes. But I
... See more
My wage is very average here in the UK but I appreciate it as a 'good living' because my material needs and wants are low. I think my main aim is to avoid the stress caused by being skint and to be able to enjoy the little free time I have as I please. I achieve this in two ways: earn as much possible doing translations and spend as little as possible on crap I don't need.