Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: When did you stop seeing yourself as a beginner translator after starting your career?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
Local time: 13:36
SITE STAFF
Oct 12, 2012

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "When did you stop seeing yourself as a beginner translator after starting your career?".

View the poll results »

Direct link Reply with quote

Claire Cox
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:36
French to English
+ ...
Can't remember! Oct 12, 2012

So I said other. It was nearly 30 years ago after all.....

Teresa Borges
Portugal
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
After the first 5 years of practice! Oct 12, 2012

I started very slowly (part-time anyway) more than 30 years ago...

[Edited at 2012-10-12 10:46 GMT]

@Barbara

Me too, I'm still learning: that's exactly one of the things I love about translation

[Edited at 2012-10-12 10:48 GMT]

Anna Spanoudaki-Thurm  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 22:36
Member (2009)
German to Greek
+ ...
I should have answered "other". Oct 12, 2012

Like Teresa, I started slowly and it was less than 5 years ago. In general, I feel there is a lot to learn, given also that I am a "Quereinsteiger" (PONS: sb entering a field of work different from their educational background).
On a second thought, there are a couple of special fields in which I can confidently claim to be an experienced pro... As there are also other fields, in which I will never be one (Legal, Gaming).

Theo Bernards  Identity Verified
France
English to Dutch
+ ...
I dropped that "stigma" as soon as I could Oct 12, 2012