Poll: When I first started as a freelancer, I planned on it being a...
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
Local time: 17:37
SITE STAFF
Aug 16, 2013

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "When I first started as a freelancer, I planned on it being a...".

View the poll results »

Direct link Reply with quote

neilmac  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 02:37
Spanish to English
+ ...
Part-time / permanent Aug 16, 2013

Although I didn't actually "plan" anything, it just sort of happened...

Teresa Borges
Portugal
Local time: 01:37
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Ditto Aug 16, 2013

neilmac wrote:

I did not plan to become a translator, it just came my way...

Tim Drayton  Identity Verified
Cyprus
Local time: 03:37
Turkish to English
+ ...
I wasn't sure Aug 16, 2013

Despite having made a concerted effort twice previously in my life to become a freelance translator without ever getting any work, the first professional translations that I did was when I was running a small company in Turkey that provided in-company language training courses and, out of the blue and unsolicited, we received translation requests from some of our client companies. I did most of the Turkish to English translation work that came along, so the first paid translations I ever did were very much a sideline.

That was 1996, and I think I have come a long way since then. I have been at it full time for the last eight years.

Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
Part-time & permanent Aug 16, 2013

Actually, I though of working fulltime as a freelancer, but when it comes to translations, it turned out that I wanted to do this type of work only part-time but permanently.

The other "half of part-time" is spend on freelancing in a different career.

Michael Harris  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2006)
German to English
Same here Aug 16, 2013

neilmac wrote: