https://www.proz.com/forum/poll_discussion/270622-poll_have_you_ever_lost_a_client_after_turning_down_a_project.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: Have you ever lost a client after turning down a project?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Jun 12, 2014

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Have you ever lost a client after turning down a project?".

This poll was originally submitted by Maciej Burak. View the poll results »

Tim Drayton
Tim Drayton  Identity Verified
Cyprus
Local time: 04:12
Turkish to English
+ ...
other Jun 12, 2014

How would I know? I am an individual freelancer and never subcontract work, so I have to turn down projects if I am busy. In some cases I have never heard from that person again, but I have no way of knowing if this is because I turned them down.

Julian Holmes
Julian Holmes  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 10:12
Member (2011)
Japanese to English
Don't know Jun 12, 2014

Like Tim, I've never had a customer tell me so how would I know?

However, some fly-by-night places who contact me only once in a while and late Friday afternoon or just before long weekends or public holidays with 'rush jobs' have stopped contacting me altogether -- which is just fine with me.

Muriel Vasconcellos
Muriel Vasconcellos  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:12
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Not sure Jun 12, 2014

For the reasons mentioned by Julian and Tim.

Marta Gómez
Marta Gómez  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 03:12
Member (2007)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Yes, once Jun 12, 2014

Yes. It happened to me once. I used to collaborate with a translation agency on a regular basis and one day they contacted me to offer me a project. I explained to the PM that that that week I was busy with other projects and had no availability. That was the last time I heard from them.

Maxi Schwarz
Maxi Schwarz  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:12
German to English
+ ...