Poll: Have you ever delivered a translation you weren't happy with?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Jul 14, 2014

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Have you ever delivered a translation you weren't happy with?".

View the poll results »

Marjolein Snippe
Marjolein Snippe  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 12:44
Member (2012)
English to Dutch
+ ...
once or twice Jul 14, 2014

At the end of the day, it is the client's wish that counts, not mine... If I have a question or comment, and I don't like or don't agree with the reply, I will try to explain my point of view, but if the client insists, I will have to yield (and try to explain one more time what I think should be changed, and why).

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
To save you all time, feel free to cut and paste Jul 14, 2014

I'm a professional but
(1) I'm not so arrogant as to think my translations couldn't be improved on
(2) Sometimes my pesky clients have stupid requirements
(3) We've all taken jobs under pressure that we wish we hadn't

Kudos to the first to admit they just dash off a pile of crap every now and again for the money

[Edited at 2014-07-14 09:07 GMT]

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
Once or twice Jul 14, 2014

Usually for reasons beyond my control, for example because the deadline is unrealistic or the client insists on leaving in stuff that could be improved or removed. Or clients who don't really care if it's top quality (or "nobody's going to read it anyway").

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...