Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: Do you have a certificate of proficiency in your source language(s)?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
Local time: 14:20
SITE STAFF
Nov 23, 2014

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Do you have a certificate of proficiency in your source language(s)?".

View the poll results »

Direct link Reply with quote

neilmac  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 23:20
Spanish to English
+ ...
Other Nov 23, 2014

I have a BA degree in "Modern Languages". However, my main subjects were Russian and French, and although I work translating from Spanish to English, I only studied a very basic "half class" in my final year, to make up the credits required. I acquired my knowledge of Spanish after moving here over 20 years ago, so I wouldn't say I had any formal qualification or certificate really. No biggie.

M. Anna Kańduła  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:20
English to Polish
Other Nov 23, 2014

MA in Russian and Ukrainian. Nothing for English.

Maxi Schwarz
Local time: 16:20
German to English
+ ...
Other Nov 23, 2014

I think this is something European? I never heard about it when growing up. Surely a university degree and appropriate training in translation is at least good enough?

ventnai  Identity Verified
Spain
German to English
+ ...
Degree Nov 23, 2014

Bsc in Modern Languages (French and German). Is this question referring to an official certificate like Cambridge Advanced English or Goethe Institute certificates?

Julian Holmes  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 06:20
Member (2011)
Japanese to English
Yep Nov 23, 2014

My B.A. (Hons) degree from the SOAS (School of Oriental and African Studies), University of London has stood me in good stead.

Like Ian asks, is this question referring to a non-University or non-higher education certificate?

LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:20
Russian to English
+ ...