Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: Is translation your only profession/occupation?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff

ProZ.com Staff
Local time: 15:19
SITE STAFF
Feb 5, 2015

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Is translation your only profession/occupation?".

View the poll results »

Muriel Vasconcellos  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:19
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Other Feb 5, 2015

It accounts for 95% of my income, though I am also an author, blogger, and landscape designer. None of the others pay enough to cover my supplies, let along my time.

Chris S  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Swedish to English
+ ...
Yes and no Feb 5, 2015

I'm 99% a translator, editor and copywriter but I also moonlight as a mountain bike guide, hedgelayer and assassin.

Sadly my gender-bending career as a Canadian actress and model has been brought to an abrupt halt by a complaint to ProZ HQ.

The long-awaited result of this little experiment was, predictably, a 0% increase in job offers through ProZ.

Which proves conclusively that the world isn't as shallow as many feared and profile photos make no difference whatsoever.

Paul Stevens  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:19
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Thanks for the giggle, Chris! Feb 5, 2015

Chris S wrote:

I'm 99% a translator, editor and copywriter but I also moonlight as a mountain bike guide, hedgelayer and assassin.

Sadly my gender-bending career as a Canadian actress and model has been brought to an abrupt halt by a complaint to ProZ HQ.

icon_biggrin.gif

Laura Bissio CT  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 20:19
Member (2008)
English to Spanish
+ ...
nowadays, yes, but Feb 5, 2015

I'm (was) also an architect. I changed professions after 20 years of architectural practice, and I'm a happy translator now.

Teresa Borges
Portugal
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
So... Feb 5, 2015

Chris S wrote: