Poll: Have you ever felt tempted to give up your job as a translator/interpreter?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
May 6, 2016

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Have you ever felt tempted to give up your job as a translator/interpreter?".

This poll was originally submitted by Irène Guinez. View the poll results »

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 12:16
Spanish to English
+ ...
Nope May 6, 2016

I know which side my bread is buttered

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 11:16
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
No! May 6, 2016

I have been translating for over 30 years full-time (20 in-house), plus a few years part-time. All the ups and downs are part of the journey. I do not fear work or challenges and as I am very stubborn (almost pig-headed about trying to achieve something) they don’t make me give up but try harder…

Yetta Jensen Bogarde
Yetta Jensen Bogarde  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2012)
English to Danish
+ ...
No, May 6, 2016

It's the best job I ever had...

Hussein Dayow Idow
Hussein Dayow Idow  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:16
Somali to English
+ ...
Yes. May 6, 2016

I quit my onsite translations and interpretation for united Nation High Commissioner for Refugees for their streneous, risky and not well paying job. I never though I will come back to translations and interpretation service until a year letter I was advised to do Online Translation and interpretation. Online translation and interpretation consultancy is the best.

Jennifer Forbes
Jennifer Forbes  Identity Verified
French to English
+ ...
In memoriam
NO! May 6, 2016

Compared with being an employee in various jobs in the financial world which offered little or no intellectual stimulation or challenge, freelance translating is heaven on earth.

Mario Chavez (X)
Mario Chavez (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:16