Poll: Do you take part in a continuing education/development program?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
Local time: 06:54
SITE STAFF
Oct 19

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Do you take part in a continuing education/development program?".

View the poll results »

Direct link Reply with quote

Muriel Vasconcellos  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:54
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
No - too late Oct 19

This old dog learned her last tricks a long time ago.

Of course, I learn as I go from every new job, but it's too late for any formal education or training in translation.

I've been studying ornamental horticulture on the side for 7 years, but that doesn't count.

Jenny Forbes  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:54
Member (2006)
French to English
+ ...
Not in the sense implied here ... Oct 19

... but life is a continuing education/development programme, whether you think you're taking part in it or not.

Teresa Borges
Portugal
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Yes Oct 19

If the course is affordable, seems interesting and I’m available… The last one was a one-week summer course on new words at the Lisbon New University (College of Social and Human Sciences) I took in July.

Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 15:54
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
Not as much as I used to... Oct 19

Since I passed my diploma, I have only taken two extended programmes, but I have attended a couple of one-day sessions each year after that.

I now feel I have covered the ground on many of them, either because I have been before, or because I have often found that time and money are better spent on reading up at home than travelling a long way for a short session.

But I do consider it important to keep up with developments one way or another.

Agneta Pallinder  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2014)
Swedish to English
+ ...
No, but also yes Oct 19