Poll: I consider most fellow translators to be:
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
May 12, 2018

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "I consider most fellow translators to be:".

View the poll results »

Mirja Maletzki
Mirja Maletzki  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 15:14
Korean to German
+ ...
Potentially Friends May 12, 2018

I've never met a translator "in the wild"... In a social situation where it goes "So, what do you do for a living?".

Considering how excited I get when someone says "I'm a freelancer and I work from home", I'm sure I would instantly feel a connection when I meet a fellow translator... so I picked "Potentially a friend"

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 06:14
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Colleagues May 12, 2018

Call me naive if you will, but I don’t see my fellow translators as competitors, even of the same language pairs and specializations, because networking is an essential part of a freelance translator’s professional life. As a result of good relationships I've built with other translators (some are Prozians), I’ve been recommended by colleagues who are either too busy to accept a job, or for projects outside their area of expertise but falling in mine. I find recommendations of colleagues h... See more