Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: How old were you when you started learning your last working language?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
Local time: 04:02
SITE STAFF
Apr 23, 2007

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "How old were you when you started learning your last working language?".

This poll was originally submitted by Lina Elhage Mavroudi

View the poll here

A forum topic will appear each time a new poll is run. For more information, see: http://proz.com/topic/33629

Direct link Reply with quote

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 13:02
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
I promise I will learn more languages! Apr 23, 2007

I voted under 20, although the question does not quite cover my case as I started learning SOME of the language under 20 but got more serious about it over 20... I have promised myself to learn Finnish and Japanese when I retire.

Denise DeVries  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:02
Spanish to English
+ ...
0-20 Apr 23, 2007

It would be interesting to know the breakdown of ages from 0-20, since we are always told that the younger we are when we begin learning a language, the easier it is to learn.

In my case, I didn't start learning foreign languages until I was 15, and I am most fluent in the one I began learning at the age of 18.

JaneTranslates  Identity Verified
Puerto Rico
Local time: 07:02
Member (2005)
Spanish to English
+ ...
I agree; 0-20 needs to be broken down. Apr 23, 2007

Tomás Cano Binder wrote:

I voted under 20, although the question does not quite cover my case as I started learning SOME of the language under 20 but got more serious about it over 20... I have promised myself to learn Finnish and Japanese when I retire.