Thread poster: Julio Ferrandis

Julio Ferrandis  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:16
English to Spanish
+ ...
Feb 12, 2010

Hello everyone

The other day I was asked if I was a certified translator for financial documents so you can put your stamp. I am afraid I did not know what they meant by that. As far as I know, sworn translators are they ones who are "certified by the government" and can put a stamp. But I did not know there exist this also for financial translations.

Anyone knows something about it?

By the way my target language is Spanish (from Spain).

Many thanks

Julio

Direct link Reply with quote

Edward Potter  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 16:16
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Sworn translator Feb 12, 2010

As far as I know the U.K. does not require a translator to be certified/sworn for documents such as birth certificates and marriage certificates.

In Spain, according to what I hear, you absolutely must be certified/sworn by the Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores. However, I really do wonder if a well-qualified translator can put his own stamp and signature on his translation and be accepted by the Spanish government. This is the situation in a couple of U.S. states, such as California. As I understand it, they have their own certification program but will accept a sworn translation from a well-qualified translator.

Jorge Luis Yong
Cuba
Local time: 10:16
English to Spanish
+ ...
Certified financial translator Feb 12, 2010

I don't know if the term certified financial translator exists, as most people are certified as translator who can be specialized in different fields. But the term "certified translator" means that you receive a certificate by an institution (USA or Canada) as a translator which means you can be :
a) sworn translator in Spain
b) traductor certificado in Mexico
c) traductor matriculado en Argentina