https://www.proz.com/forum/professional_development/163708-the_german_state_examination_for_translators_and_interpreters.html

The German State Examination for Translators and Interpreters
Thread poster: Albert Fischer (Dipl. Jur., LL.B., BDÜ)
Albert Fischer (Dipl. Jur., LL.B., BDÜ)
Albert Fischer (Dipl. Jur., LL.B., BDÜ)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 22:26
English to German
+ ...
Apr 27, 2010

Hello,

I am planning to sit these exams (field: law) in June this year. I am a native German and I studied law, not linguistics.

Can anyone tell me how to prepare for this exam? I work as a full-time translator ("lawyer-linguist" if you want to put it in a more pretentious fashion) and therefore I am even more scared that something might go wrong.

The respctive public authority said, without prejudice, that on average, the failure rate is about 20%.
<
... See more
Hello,

I am planning to sit these exams (field: law) in June this year. I am a native German and I studied law, not linguistics.

Can anyone tell me how to prepare for this exam? I work as a full-time translator ("lawyer-linguist" if you want to put it in a more pretentious fashion) and therefore I am even more scared that something might go wrong.

The respctive public authority said, without prejudice, that on average, the failure rate is about 20%.

Is there something I should take special care of or something that I should especially look out for when sitting/preparing the exam?

I hold German and UK law degrees and I have a fair bit of experience by now - shouldn't that suffice? I of course downloaded past papers but I didn't find them very instructive.

Any help and advice will be utmost appreciated.

Cheers, Albert.
Collapse

Helena Diaz del Real
Helena Diaz del Real  Identity Verified
Germany
German to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
You must proof to have experience as a translator Apr 28, 2010

Hi Albert,