Where to begin in this field - advice, please!
Thread poster: annexthecelt
Mar 6, 2011

Hi there, my name is Anne and I am an aspiring translator / interpreter of multiple languages. I am fluent in French, and am just starting learn Japanese, Russian, Spanish, and Arabic through my military husband's Rosetta Stone access. I, however, am having some concerns about just how to get started in this field as far as:

- Which schools have the best / most flexible foreign language programs

- Which schools possibly offer online classes, for I just moved to Hawaii

- How to learn several languages at one -- do I dual major, triple major? Do I even need a degree at all, just certifications? And how do those work?

Even if you don't have any suggestions for me, I would at least like to hear about your journey and how you got where you are as a translator / interpreter. Any help would be much appreciated.

Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 11:53
Spanish to English
+ ...
Hello, and welcome Mar 6, 2011

While I do not have any ready answers for your first and second questions, this article might help with regards to the third: http://www.proz.com/translation-articles/articles/611/

Our colleagues might have more have to say about your concerns.

Jean-Pierre Artigau
Canada
Local time: 05:53
English to French
+ ...
Advice to a young translator Mar 7, 2011

You should do a research on this site (proz.com), these questions probably have been raised multiple times by other people.

I don't know anything about translator schools in the US, but I can talk about other more general aspects.

I wouldn't advise to try to learn all the languages you mentioned (half a dozen!) First of all I don't think translator schools would require their students to learn more than one or two languages.