NAATI accreditation for emmigration purposes
Thread poster: Stephania125

Stephania125
Local time: 11:32
Japanese to English
Mar 27, 2011

Dear all,

I feel like I got stuck in a rut and don't know what to do. I would really like to have your advice.

I am a qualified and experienced translator. I would like to emmigrate to Australia and for this reason I was thinking of taking a course in the country rather than sitting for the NAATI exam because I heard 1) it is very difficult to pass, and 2) it is very expensive.

My final goal is to obtain a permanent GSM (General Skilled Migration) visa.

Having a look at someone else's post on this website, I have learned I will have to prove that I have worked as a full time translator for the last 18 months before the application of the visa. I thought I could apply for it immediately after I successfully complete a course, so I was totally wrong.

Could anyone please tell me your experience or any information about this matter? Was I really wrong?

I am not so young, so if I need to spend some time on job hunting and working for 18 months, I will not be able to make it. If that is the case, I don't want to give it up, but perhaps it would be better if I did now.

My initial plan was to start taking a course this summer and apply for the visa by the end of next year. If I need to give up this plan, what options do I have?

Any advice would be very appreciated.

Stephania

Vanda Nissen  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 12:32
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
no translators Mar 27, 2011

Hi there,

DIAC stopped accepting applications from translators and interpreters two years ago.
You can check this list of occupations in demand in Australia:
http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/_pdf/sol-schedule3.pdf
If you want to immigrate, you should get a degree in Finance, Education etc.

Stephania125
Local time: 11:32
Japanese to English
TOPIC STARTER
I feel like I have reached a dead end. Mar 29, 2011

Hi Vanda,