Totally new to TRADOS: Reccomended tutorials?
Thread poster: GerardoCáceres

GerardoCáceres
Local time: 21:23
Spanish to English
+ ...
Dec 5, 2011

Hello everyone,

thisTis my first time posting as I've actually only recently signed up to PROZ.
Now, in my country I've been translating for a few years now, so as far as research, the economic aspect and terminology I think I'm OK, although one does learn with every project one takes on. Now, I've been approaching my translations in a really "old school" way, relying mainly on the speed of my typing and my resourcefulness for research. However, I've been looking into streamlining my process, and to this end I wanted to purchase a CAT software that would cut down on my time per project.
Looking around the forums, and also by talking with some people I've met through my interpretation jobs, I think TRADOS is the most commonly used one and I will purchase it very soon. but so as to not having it laying around like that treadmill I once bought, I want to learn how to use it from scratch.
In the SDL website it quotes some courses which are $250 each, and I think that by being a PROZ member you can get them for less, but could anyone offer some input on them? Are they worth my while? Or is there another (paid, of course) tutorial than anyone could recommend for a complete and utter TRADOS beginner?
Any help would be most appreciated.

Charlie Castle

Direct link Reply with quote

esperantisto  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:23
Member (2006)
English to Russian
+ ...
Russian, maybe? Dec 5, 2011

Do you read Russian? Some tutorials for SDL Trados Studio 2009/2011 are available here: http://www.tra-service.ru/tutorials.

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 04:23
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
SDL webinars on Proz Dec 5, 2011

Hi Charlie, and welcome to ProZ.
You're just in time to sign up for this free webinar on Thursday