https://www.proz.com/forum/professional_development/298763-is_ata_certification_worth_it_2016_edition.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Is ATA certification worth it? (2016 edition)
Thread poster: Michael Marcoux
Michael Marcoux
Michael Marcoux  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 13:23
Russian to English
+ ...
Feb 25, 2016

Hey all,

Sorry for posting a new thread on the topic when there appears to be an existing one below - but given that it's from 2007 I wanted to reopen the topic for a fresh discussion.

I've been working for 3 years as a full-time translator - but it went from part time to full time because I allowed myself to become overly reliant on one client. Over the past year, this client has been steadily scaling back their operations, leaving me high and dry. And if there's one t
... See more
Hey all,

Sorry for posting a new thread on the topic when there appears to be an existing one below - but given that it's from 2007 I wanted to reopen the topic for a fresh discussion.

I've been working for 3 years as a full-time translator - but it went from part time to full time because I allowed myself to become overly reliant on one client. Over the past year, this client has been steadily scaling back their operations, leaving me high and dry. And if there's one thing I'm realizing now, it's that reaching out to new agencies is a lot harder than I once thought.

That being said, I was looking into ATA certification as a way to stand out in the RU>EN market and convince agencies to take a chance on me. I already passed the practice test (on my first try, woohoo!) but wanted to reflect on whether the benefits outweigh the costs before I go signing up for something that will cost me membership fees and continuing education credits each year.

That being said, I'd like to hear from others: has ATA certification had a positive impact on your ability to get clients' attention, and also do you view it as a valuable bargaining chip in rate negotiations?