An advice
Thread poster: xxxkikyo
xxxkikyo
Local time: 01:24
English to Italian
+ ...
Jul 21, 2006

Hello to everybody!
I discovered proz.com only two days ago. If you have some minutes to read this message, I will tell you what's troubling me.
As I wrote in the italian section, I got my degree here in Italy in 2005. I attended the faculty of Foreign Languages and the fourth year was entirely focused on interpretation (simultaneous and consecutive interpretation).
I studied English, French and Spanish.
I would really like to become an interpreter but I know this profession requires a long period of training.
I have never been abroad and I'd like to attend an interpretation master outside Italy. I want to enhance my english language first and I'd prefer to study in the United States. So, since October 2005, I started working here in Italy with the intention of gaining enough money for leaving.
But the master’s prices, in USA, are too high for me: I'd have to work at least 3 or 4 years to put aside the necessary money. So I started thinking about European masters. The prices are generally affordable, but many of these courses require candidates at least 4 months of stay in the countries where the languages they studied are also the official languages. I understand why it’s important but this is an obstacle for those like me have restricted financial assets. Despite the money matters, if I wanted to carry on English, Spanish and French…how long would this take me?
I’m really worried and confused. Actually, I don’t know what to do. I just go on working here in Italy (as a secretary) and wonder about my future.
I would like to ask people who have gone through the same worries and experiences, to give me an advice. I’d also ask users from United States to tell me about some programs or courses they think could be suitable to me and my situation.
Thank you all in advance.

Direct link Reply with quote

Hilary Davies Shelby
United States
Local time: 18:24
German to English