https://www.proz.com/forum/professional_development/81187-phd_in_terminology_or_translation_in_europe.html

PhD in terminology &/or translation in Europe!
Thread poster: Wa'ad Younane
Wa'ad Younane
Wa'ad Younane
Lebanon
Local time: 16:11
English to Arabic
+ ...
Aug 13, 2007

Dears,

I am searching for a good university in Europe for my PhD in Terminology (or translation). I hold a Masters in Terminology from Lyon-France and would like to pursue my studies, either in French or in English (in English preferably, and if it includes foreign languages such as Arabic it would be great). Any ideas?

thanks for all your help!

Heidi C
Heidi C  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:11
English to Spanish
+ ...
Universidad Pompeu Fabra Aug 13, 2007

Universidad Pompeu Fabra in Barcelona, Spain has a PhD in terminology and an important research group:

http://www.iula.upf.edu/formaces01.htm

though you would have to find out about language combinations...

Good luck

Wa'ad Younane
Wa'ad Younane
Lebanon
English to Arabic
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you! Aug 13, 2007

thank you so much Heidi, i'll browse the site right now, hope it has what I am looking for:)

take care

The Misha
The Misha
Russian to English
+ ...
Why bother? Aug 13, 2007

With all due respect, why do you even bother? Translation is a practical skill that is not developed by means of advanced degrees, but rather through translating more texts and narrowing your specialization down to a few subject areas. Does it even pay to get a PhD in Translation? Not in the US, that's for sure.

Lia Fail (X)
Lia Fail (X)  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 15:11
Spanish to English
+ ...
Is it officially recognised? Aug 13, 2007

Heidi C wrote:

Universidad Pompeu Fabra in Barcelona, Spain has a PhD in terminology and an important research group:

though you would have to find out about language combinations...

Good luck

Parrot
Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
For what it's worth Aug 13, 2007