Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Quality of translations (or lack thereof)
Thread poster: Sylvain Meyrous
Sylvain Meyrous  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 00:47
English to French
Jul 22, 2008

Hello,

I have been proofreading for about two years, mostly for Canadian companies. So far, I have found most work to be of appalling quality. In one company, the policy was to push translators to work about ten times as fast as they should, which accounted for the poor quality of the work.

But still, most of the jobs I proofread showcase a very insufficient understanding of the source language (English) and a very poor command of the target language (French). I find myself correcting basic grammar, English 101-level errors, i.e. "I have been doing this for 4 years" - "j'ai fait cela depuis 4 ans", non-French sentence structure, gross misunderstandings, inexact if not completely wrong adjectives, etc.

What baffles me is that the end result is not idiomatic at all. Several people I showed texts to told me they seemed to have been written by a bad speaker of French as a second language. The odd thing is that this should be obvious upon reading the text. You can literally guess the English through the French. In addition, cultural references are ALWAYS missed, which would not surprise me if I did not know that the translators actually live and have been living in English-speaking Canada for years.

I had to stop working with an agency because they told me that I should send the work back to the translator if it was sub-standard. I said I would have to send everything back... I find myself re-translating all the time.

Even worse is the fact that most clients seem perfectly happy with work that barely passes the mark. Some even send the work back with "corrections", asking for all the anglicisms that I took out to be put back in the document... This is extremely disappointing, as it makes me question the usefulness of my work.