Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Should I have my translations proofread before submitting to end client?
Thread poster: xxxmakenaiboy
xxxmakenaiboy
Japanese to English
Jul 24, 2008

Hello all,

I apologise if this has already been answered but I did a search / browse of this forum and couldn't find an answer.

I'm relatively new to the business side of translation and am trying to follow best practices.

I'm curious to know how many of you have your translation read by a proofreader prior to being submitted to an end client? Is this a cost that you see necessary as part of your translation process? Or what about the case when working for a smaller agency that does not have translations proofread?

I recently read of someone who didn't proofread their work, but when submitting the translation to the client, they included the words "This translation is yet to be proofread by a 3rd party".

I'm also looking at indemnity insurance. Do you think this is a worthwhile investment?

Thanks

Direct link Reply with quote

Ivana Friis Wilson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:34
Member (2008)
English to Danish
+ ...
Either are good Jul 24, 2008

Either you tell the client that there has been no external proofreading or you get it done and tell them. The best is probably to arange it yourself - most clients will not arrrange an external proofreading. Obviously you factor this into your price.

With agencies, you do only arrange external rpoofreading if they request it. I have never heard of an agency that does not use proofreaders - they might very well not, but its is not our problem.

I don't have indemnity insurance but I probably should. So yes, do get one

Fabio Descalzi  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 01:34
Member (2004)
German to Spanish
+ ...
A suggestion Jul 24, 2008

Hi makenaiboy

Thanks for posting at this forum.