Anonymity vs. credit for your work
Thread poster: KMPrice

KMPrice  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 00:42
French to English
Oct 21, 2013

I am in a quandary, and would really appreciate the input and advice of Proz.com members.

I have been freelancing almost exclusively for the same agency for 10 years. About a year ago, something came up which had me mentioning that in Microsoft Word, when you hover over my comments and edits in a document (Track changes On), My name comes up. The owner of the agency was surprised, and has since requested that Their name be shown on all edits, requiring me to go into Word's preferences, and change the user information, whenever i'm on an editing job for them (this of course screws up my name on outgoing emails in Entourage, but c'est la vie).

This of course leaves me with Zero proof that the work is mine.

Is this normal practice? Would you go along with it?

Direct link Reply with quote

Valery Shapovalenko  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 10:42
English to Russian
+ ...
You have two options Oct 21, 2013

One - leave the status quo as it is. Second - let them (agency) do their job and clean up your name and replace with whatever they want it (and violate your intellectual rights). The latter are secured by a number of european laws (take a tour and see) and nobody can force you to deny your property, though it is 'so intangible' - what your translation is.

nordiste  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 09:42
English to French
+ ...
employee vs freelancer Oct 21, 2013

You work on YOUR computer with YOUR software, so it normal that your information comes up as the person who did the comments or updated the TM or whatever.

Your are not an employee, you are a freelancer responsible for your own work. If you make a mistake or they dont't like some comments, the agency will blame you, not the agency's owner.

I would not accept such a request.