Peter Simon
Peter Simon  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 08:12
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Mar 14, 2014

Dear Colleagues,

I am quite new to this brave new world with CAT tools, and I've always found the idea of using them a bit weird. Now that I use one, I am mostly displeased, especially when I think about the cost of buying it. I'm also pestered by the idea of "Term agreement" and similar things when checking existing machine-translated texts, or proofreading work of others. How do we and the tools define agreement, based on which one gets a lower % of his/her rate if this "agreement
... See more
Dear Colleagues,

I am quite new to this brave new world with CAT tools, and I've always found the idea of using them a bit weird. Now that I use one, I am mostly displeased, especially when I think about the cost of buying it. I'm also pestered by the idea of "Term agreement" and similar things when checking existing machine-translated texts, or proofreading work of others. How do we and the tools define agreement, based on which one gets a lower % of his/her rate if this "agreement" is high? To my mind, non-related languages can never be in agreement, but on word level, there can be apparent agreement. However, even though the words themselves may be the same, the target text may have lost its meaning due to endings, suffixes and the like among certain language pairs. This may be less apparent among more related languages, like among Dutch, German and English.

I've just wrote a post in my blog about this, using examples between English and Hungarian. If you are interested, please read http://learnenglishinnetherlands.com/2014/03/14/the-extent-translation-is-correct/. Thank you for your kind replies.
Collapse

Erik Freitag
Erik Freitag  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2006)
Dutch to German
+ ...
MT vs. CAT Mar 14, 2014

Dear Peter,