Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Is it worth to pay the proz.com membership?
Thread poster: Rafa Martínez
Rafa Martínez
Rafa Martínez
Local time: 05:05
English to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 26, 2008

I mean, put yourself in my place, I've never made a paid translation, I don't have lots of experience, I'm a student, I don't have a recurrent job, I can only go to work certain weekends, that is my only income source, I think I have the money but maybe I'll need that money within two months to eat, but the question is, if I pay the membership when am I going to receive the amount I've paid for the membership in jobs?

Now that you know my case, what would you do ?

Than
... See more
I mean, put yourself in my place, I've never made a paid translation, I don't have lots of experience, I'm a student, I don't have a recurrent job, I can only go to work certain weekends, that is my only income source, I think I have the money but maybe I'll need that money within two months to eat, but the question is, if I pay the membership when am I going to receive the amount I've paid for the membership in jobs?

Thank you!!
Collapse

Alessandro Cattelan (X)
Alessandro Cattelan (X)
Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
Honestly, I think it isn't Apr 26, 2008

Rafa Martínez wrote:

Thank you!!

I'm not a paying member and I think I'll never be one. I don't think there's anything wrong with paying for being a member of this site and I assume that it could indeed prove somehow useful. However, I strongly believe that this is not what will make you a translator and it will hardly let you get any jobs in the sector.

I believe that very few agencies look for translators on this - or any other similar - website for their regular job. They may put their bids here when they have some urgent job or they want to extend their databases, but most agencies rely on their own freelance translators and not on Proz members.