Thread poster: Anthony Baldwin
Anthony Baldwin
Anthony Baldwin  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:11
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Jun 17, 2006

For at least two whole days, any attempt to access my site, http://www.baldwinlinguas.com
gives a 403 forbidden error message.
This is damaging my business.
What gives?

I should add, I can access cPanel without issue, as well as receive and send mail, but can not view a single page of my site.

[Edited at 2006-06-17 13:03]

Evi Wollinger
Evi Wollinger  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 03:11
Member (2003)
English to German
+ ...
did you recently update your site? Jun 17, 2006

I am no expert.
Sometimes I have accidentally deleted or renamed my index page, while updating my website(s).
The first thing I would do is to check if you still have a file called index.htm. If not, then you must create one or rename your homepage to index.htm.
If you type "forbidden error why" into google it will give you many more suggestions on what could be causing this problem. Good Luck!

Anthony Baldwin
United States
Portuguese to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
index still there Jun 17, 2006

Evi Wollinger wrote:

I am no expert.
Sometimes I have accidentally deleted or renamed my index page, while updating my website(s).
The first thing I would do is to check if you still have a file called index.htm. If not, then you must create one or rename your homepage to index.htm.
If you type "forbidden error why" into google it will give you many more suggestions on what could be causing this problem. Good Luck!

All of my pages are still there, including the index...or at least, I they are still listed, and I can still even edit them, from the cPanel filemanager. But not one of them can be seen or accessed directly in browser.

It´s a permissions issue. But what´s modified my permissions settings, and how it was done, and how to undo it...that´s the problem....

Vito Smolej
Vito Smolej
Germany
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...