How to make a good profile and a great CV
Thread poster: Caio Colombini
Caio Colombini  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:00
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Apr 26, 2012

Hi people!

I'm new here and I'm having a lot of troubles because I've never worked as a translator and don't know how to make my profile looks like "wow, I just need him working for me" and my CV too.

I also never worked actually, I'm 18, student of dentistry, but I have 10 years of experience with english (particular classes). I tried to quote for a lot of jobs, but no answers, and I guess it's because my profile must be "not enough" and my CV even worse.

I read some topics here where some people talked about doing some jobs for free on the beginning, but I don't think it's a good idea (at least not for me), so, let's get to the point:

I want you to take a look at my profile and my CV (you can get it at my profile) and give me some tips, like what can I put on it if I never had any experience with translation, and I also want you to tell me what do you think about this "idea" of doing some jobs for free, and finally I want you to help me with my rates as a beginner.

That's it.

note: I don't know if that's the right section for it, but if it's not, please, don't hesitate letting me know.

Bye

Direct link Reply with quote

Daina Jauntirans  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:00
German to English
+ ...
One hint Apr 26, 2012

Hi, I have one quick hint - Your keywords are in English, but your About Me section is in Portuguese. If someone searches in English and finds you based on your keywords, they will get to your Profile and (potentially) not be able to read it.

Also, it is not credible to say that you are 18 and have 10 years of translation experience! You may have studied English for 10 years, but that is not equal to translation experience.

[Edited at 2012-04-26 00:31 GMT]

Paula Hernández
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:00
English to Spanish
+ ...
Professional? Apr 26, 2012