Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
improving proz.com
Thread poster: xxxr_cantillo

xxxr_cantillo  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:19
English to Italian
+ ...
Aug 20, 2009

I'm actually quite happy being a full member apart from: whenever I send out messages to potential jobs whcih might interest me I only rarely get any kind of answer; I don't always have time to check the blueboard etc as I am a part-time freelance translator and I teach full-time. I really do believe moreover that more must be done about making the job searching option better (i.e. if I select Italian>English I shouldn't get emails for jobs in Spanish or French). the other thing is really about the name itself: some of my best collegues and friends have real problems about the network being named thus ('proz') and it often (whenever I talk about it) invites sneering comments hinting at some rude implication behind the 'proz' name..it might be of interest to you guys, as I feel any professional community should not be attacked or shunned because of it name, in fact any name (company, network or else) should promote affiliation and not discourage it!

i am being really honest and maybe a bit dumb in writing this post but these are my feelings re: how to improve proz.com, regards,

Raffaella Cantillo

Tina Vonhof
Canada
Local time: 13:19
Member (2006)
Dutch to English
+ ...
New friends? Aug 20, 2009

As for not getting a reply to job applications, this is quite common. It would be nice to hear something, even if you didn't get the job, but I think outsourcers generally don't have time for that. Don't let it discourage you from applying. Make sure your profile and resumé are the best they can be and someday you may be just the right person for the job.

As for the name 'Proz', what do your friends think are the 'rude implications' behind it? I don't see anything wrong with the name, nor have I ever heard anyone else complain about it. Maybe you need some new friends?

Daniel Šebesta  Identity Verified