Has the "delete" button been deleted from blueboard entries and WWA?
Thread poster: chopra_2002

chopra_2002  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 22:04
Member (2008)
English to Hindi
+ ...
Mar 1, 2012

Earlier, there used to be a delete button in front of name of the every translation agency in whose respect the blue board entry was made and the person could delete that particular entry in future, if he wanted to do so but this button is not visible nowadays. Has this practice been dispensed with?

Further, one can hide the names of translation agencies in whose respect the blue board entries are made and others can't find out their names. Of course, they can read the entries made by the translators and the replies of translation agencies. But this practice is not followed in Willingness to Work Again and every one can see the name of translation agency which has made the comment. Should not we have the same thing in this respect also?

I have 9 positive entries in Willingness to Work Again in my profile but I want that the names of at least three agencies should not be visible to others due to certain reasons. Since I can't hide their names, I requested them to delete their entries but they have expressed their inability because it can not be done. Of course, there is a "Hide from visitors" button but it will hide all entries. Am I missing something? Can the translation agency delete its Willingness to Work Again entry? If so, what is the procedure for doing so? If this is not possible, should not something be done in this respect in the days to come?

Regards,

Chopra


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Sonia Hill
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:34
Italian to English
I'd like to find out about this too Mar 1, 2012

I have a few agencies I would like to remove from my WWA list, as I no longer work with them for various reasons and don't particularly want to be associated with them. I'd love to find out how to do this!

Direct link Reply with quote
 

Lucia Leszinsky
SITE STAFF
Contact site staff through the support center Mar 1, 2012

Hello Chopra, hello Sonia,

Likelihood of Working Again (LWA) entries (i.e. Blue Board entries) can only be removed from a Blue Board record if the outsourcer has not yet posted a reply to them. In other words, the "Delete" button is only available while the entry contains the poster's comment. Once the oustourcer posts a reply to this comment, the "Delete" option is no longer available. This is so to avoid abuse of the LWA system.

If you would like to have a given LWA entry removed, simply submit a support request, specify a reason and support staff will take care of it. The same applies to Willingness to Work Again (WWA) feedback entries. Currently, only site staff can remove WWA entries. And, again, this is so to avoid abuse of the WWA feedback system. Currently there is no option to hide some WWA entries and leave others visible.

Kind regards,

Lucia


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Katalin Horváth McClure  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:34
Member (2002)
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Visibility of clients providing WWA - open to abuse Mar 1, 2012

Lucia,
I think there is a very important point in the original post, and this had been brought up previously in other threads, I think.
The fact is that WWA entries on one's profile are visible in their entirety for anybody, even visitors who are not logged in. This presents a situation that may be easily abused by someone who is into client poaching, and ProZ would not even have a trace of it.

I strongly suggest making it possible for ProZ profile owners to control what level of visibility they allow for the identity of the outsourcers who posted WWA entries for them.
I am not talking about allowing this setting one by one, for each WWA entry, but at least in general, for all WWA entries.
If blocking the identities is set, then ProZ would still require identification of the outsourcer, and would use the same process as now to ensure the validity of the entry, but it would not display the name, only perhaps "Blue Board outsourcer" or "Outsourcer", without the link to the outsourcer's profile page or BB page.

I think this is a reasonable request, and you do have the technical processes in place to do this, as you are already doing it on the BB. While the comments are visible, the identity of the people who posted BB entries is blocked from outside viewers, and I believe it is blocked from non-paying members, too.

I think this issue should be handled at a higher priority than the usual "we added it to the list of possible ideas that may be evaluated in the future" level.

Thanks
Katalin

(Edited for typos.)

[Módosítva: 2012-03-01 14:54 GMT]


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Alejandro Cavalitto
Local time: 13:34
SITE STAFF
Good ideas Mar 1, 2012

Hello,

Thanks for these suggestions. I will look into this and see if they can be implemented.

Best regards,
Alejandro


Direct link Reply with quote
 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Has the "delete" button been deleted from blueboard entries and WWA?

Advanced search






PerfectIt consistency checker
Faster Checking, Greater Accuracy

PerfectIt helps deliver error-free documents. It improves consistency, ensures quality and helps to enforce style guides. It’s a powerful tool for pro users, and comes with the assurance of a 30-day money back guarantee.

More info »
memoQ translator pro
Kilgray's memoQ is the world's fastest developing integrated localization & translation environment rendering you more productive and efficient.

With our advanced file filters, unlimited language and advanced file support, memoQ translator pro has been designed for translators and reviewers who work on their own, with other translators or in team-based translation projects.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search