How should Russian to English segment length be set up in Wordfast Classic"
Thread poster: Chris Lovelace

Chris Lovelace  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 02:07
Russian to English
+ ...
Nov 26, 2009

I am new to Wordfast, and am trying to get my translation memory to work. The sentences in my document are very long, but I haven't found a length of any segments that actually produces any fuzzy matches, even though there should be...

What do I need to keep in mind as I build a TM for Russian to English in Wordfast Classic so that I get the best leverage for the CAT tool?

Direct link Reply with quote

Sergei Leshchinsky  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 08:07
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
fuzzy match Nov 26, 2009

is a result of statistical processing of a segment... it does not deal with the segment length... it is the share (weighed part) of one segment that resembles (or coincides with) some other segment. Less share size produces higher probability of repetition (coincidence), as it is more likely to get smaller words (or sequences of characters) repeated in a different segment.

Try setting the fuzzy-match threshold at about 55%, i.e. slightly more than a half of the segment repeated. However, thus it will trigger at articles, prepositions and link verbs more often.

Play with the settings. You need to get the feeling they act.

[Редактировалось 2009-11-26 08:30 GMT]

Argentina
Russian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks! Any other suggestions? Nov 26, 2009

Sergei Leshchinsky wrote:

is a result of statistical processing of a segment... it does not deal with the segment length... it is the share (weighed part) of one segment that resembles (or coincides with) some other segment. Less share size produces higher probability of repetition (coincidence), as it is more likely to get smaller words (or sequences of characters) repeated in a different segment.