E-mail about illegal Web pages - could it be a virus?
Thread poster: Bernadette Mora

Bernadette Mora  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:29
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 25, 2004

Hi everybody,

This morning I received an e-mail from abuse@gov.us telling me that I have been visiting recently illegal pages and they attached my a .zip folder called "details".
Do you think that's another way to introduce me more viruses?
I heve never visited any illegal page but the other day I got a very dangerous Trojan virus (some, to be more specific) that is stuck to my operating system. And at the same time I was sent some documents such as,
Britney Spears sexy, Eminent, Porno Teens, Harry Potter, Sex and more and more that my anti-virus system detected but that unfortunately it cannot clean...
Any similar experience like mine?

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2004-10-25 08:34]

Direct link Reply with quote

avsie  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:29
English to French
+ ...
it is no doubt a virus... Oct 25, 2004

... simply delete the e-mail, and do not open the attachment.

If you receive an e-mail from someone you don't know and it has an attachment, this should always ring a bell in your mind: delete immediately, and don't bother

Direct link Reply with quote

Michele Johnson  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:29
German to English
+ ...
Total scam. Don't open. Oct 25, 2004

No experience exactly like yours but please don't even think about opening the attachment. I periodically get emails saying "Is that you in the attached picture?" with a zip attachment called "Sex_with_barnyard_animals.zip" or "Incest_pics.zip" or similar. Clearly they just want you to be worried enough to open the file. If you need any more convincing, have a look at the email headers or check out here:
http://mailman.lug.org.uk/pipermail/wolves/2004-April/006862.html where it says

"If you get any mail from this faked domain just bin it it's
W32/Netsky.P at mm

Or here:
This morning I got a virus mail at work - the first I can remember receiving at that address. The apparent sender is "abuse@gov.us" and the subject is "Illegal Website" which makes one curious enough (though wary) to read the message:

You have visited illegal websites. I have a big list of the websites you surfed.

The attachment, of course, is not a list but a virus (removed, it must be said, in case you were getting worried here, by the virus scan). Although there are several obvious signs that people ought to pick up on (gov.us? two-line e-mail? wouldn't a four-page writ be more likely if it was a legit message?), this is definitely in the top-five wiley virus messages list.

Or simply do a google search for the sender's email address.

[Edited at 2004-10-25 08:52]

Direct link Reply with quote

To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

E-mail about illegal Web pages - could it be a virus?

Advanced search

You’re a freelance translator? LSP.expert helps you manage your daily translation jobs. It’s easy, fast and secure.

How about you start tracking translation jobs and sending invoices in minutes? You can also manage your clients and generate reports about your business activities. So you always keep a clear view on your planning, AND you get a free 30 day trial period!

More info »
Déjà Vu X3
Try it, Love it

Find out why Déjà Vu is today the most flexible, customizable and user-friendly tool on the market. See the brand new features in action: *Completely redesigned user interface *Live Preview *Inline spell checking *Inline

More info »

  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search