United Kingdom
Local time: 19:15
Polish to English
+ ...
May 16, 2013

Dear All,

Today I got this email:

Hi Aleksandra,

Hope you are doing well. We are anticipating a large project to come through from one of our regular client. The job will involve linguistic service in 10 European languages.

Apparently, we need to submit few sample translations to the client for the involved languages, for approval. Please submit your sample translation for English to Polish, if you would be interested in participating in the project.

Attached herewith, is the sample file for your reference.

Regards,
Anand Panchal

and below was my "original message" as if the message was a reply to my email:

On Wed, Jan 2, 2013 at 6:47 PM, Aleksandra Karpiuk wrote:

I'm writing in response to translation offer on proz.com.
I'm a native Polish translator with 3 years of translation experience. I'm interested in the project and I would be happy to submit a translation sample for your approval.
I have attached my CV. My rate is $0.07 per word.
I hope you will consider me for the position.
Kind regards,
Aleksandra Karpiuk

It seems legitimate, BUT two things got my attention: I don't remember sending this (the date on reply post is from January 2, yes, but why on earth would anyone reply 5 months after...) and the fact that I usually format my quotes for translations a bit differently (I start with "hello" or similar, always mention the fact that I have a BA in linguistics, my experience etc. and there's no such thing here). I also ran a search on the email (anand.panchal86@gmail.com) and it search engine forwarded me to black translation lists. I'm 99% confident this is a scammer.