Do you also receive e-mails promoting a translator's service?
Thread poster: Bora Taşdemir
Bora Taşdemir
Bora Taşdemir  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:04
Member (2012)
English to Turkish
+ ...
Nov 27, 2013

Hi,

I just wandered if am I the only one who is receiving other translators' marketing e-mails (I am a translator too). What I am actually wandering is; where did they find my e-mail (and I guess there is a dozen of e-mail addresses on the list) address? Do you have any idea?

Thanks,

Bora

Pascale Pluton
Pascale Pluton  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 00:04
Member (2005)
English to French
+ ...
Loads of them too Nov 27, 2013

I receive plenty of them too in all sorts of language combinations.

This is getting annoying because I have as little use to them as to, let's say, a penis enlargement product

I suppose those people, if they are real, must have bought a mailing list containing your address. Yes, we are living in a wonderful word aren't we, where thirds parties make money with your address.....

The problem is
... See more
I receive plenty of them too in all sorts of language combinations.

This is getting annoying because I have as little use to them as to, let's say, a penis enlargement product

I suppose those people, if they are real, must have bought a mailing list containing your address. Yes, we are living in a wonderful word aren't we, where thirds parties make money with your address.....

The problem is that it is difficult to find you how it all started and with your address circulating around, there is no way to stop it, but a drastic change of e-mail address.

I guess we just have to put up with this spam…

[Edited at 2013-11-27 08:06 GMT]
Collapse

Bora Taşdemir
Member (2012)
English to Turkish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Translator-Bee? Nov 27, 2013

I guess I remember somehow when this e-mail flood started though: once there was a site like a translator-bee or something like that.