a crook is usurping my full (Proz) CV to solicit clients
Thread poster: swisstell

Local time: 14:32
German to English
+ ...
Mar 28, 2014

Be warned. It could happen to you. The second time in the last few months a shady individual who calls himself Carlos Betty, with an email address carlosbetty6@gmail.com has usurped
my full CV, EVERYTHING including my phone number and address, only replacing my name with his as "Carlos betty" (no cap B for betty!).
When soliciting business from agency A, the latter was kind enough to warn me, as they obviously discovered awkward terminology in Betty's "service offer" (who also claims to be of native German tongue) and checked out my CV by looking me up in Proz. Yesterday I got a call from an agency B who wanted to know when I would finally deliver a translation (promised by "me" i.e. Betty "within an hour").
The motivations for this scam are puzzling. What can Betty achieve by indicating my address and phone number aside from trying to damage my reputation by delivering a lousy job or more likely not delivering at all?
Any colleagues out there with similar experience and/or advice how to track and silence the likes of Betty?
www.proz.com/profiles/2323 - Swisstell


Thayenga  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:32
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
Public display of CV Mar 29, 2014

Sorry to read about your annoying experience.

Perhaps you might consider setting your business brochure (CV) to be only visible to outsourcers. This is what I have done, and it works well. Also, you might consider leaving your contact details out to be replaced by somthing like, the full contact details will be available upon first email / Skype contact. To protect your CV, you can also require a password in order to copy, edit or print it.

Stay safe!

By the way, the link you have provided has apparently been removed by Proz.com site staff.icon_wink.gif


Eleonora Di Nardo
Local time: 14:32
German to Italian
+ ...
It also happened to us ! carlos Betty is a false translator! May 19, 2014

We received a translation from this person Carlos betty which was awful! This is a false traslator just seeking money -
BEWARE! he wants to be payed ahead before completion of work!

[Edited at 2014-05-19 08:13 GMT]

[Edited at 2014-05-19 08:13 GMT]


João Roque Dias
Local time: 13:32
English to Portuguese
"Carlos Betty" / carlosbetty6@gmail.com Jul 21, 2014

"Carlos Betty" is just another fake ID created by scammers.

With this fake ID, scammers circulate a CV stolen from a US translator.

The same CV has also been scammed as: David Dallas / daviddallas908 @ gmail.com

Source: http://www.translator-scammers.com


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

Moderator(s) of this forum
Alejandro Cavalitto[Call to this topic]

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

a crook is usurping my full (Proz) CV to solicit clients

Advanced search

BaccS – Business Accounting Software
Modern desktop project management for freelance translators

BaccS makes it easy for translators to manage their projects, schedule tasks, create invoices, and view highly customizable reports. User-friendly, ProZ.com integration, community-driven development – a few reasons BaccS is trusted by translators!

More info »
Anycount & Translation Office 3000
Translation Office 3000

Translation Office 3000 is an advanced accounting tool for freelance translators and small agencies. TO3000 easily and seamlessly integrates with the business life of professional freelance translators.

More info »

  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search