Thread poster: Mariana Rodriguez
Mariana Rodriguez
Mariana Rodriguez  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:49
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 8, 2014

I am fairly new to the Freelance world and one of the challenges I am encountering is trusting emails and communications I get from "alleged" Translation agencies. I am always afraid that it might be a scam and I feel specially cautious to send important information such as social security number when required to fill out W9 forms.

Even though I don't reply to certain emails that are obviously suspicious (lots of misspells, no contact information, no project specifics, etc), I am w
... See more
I am fairly new to the Freelance world and one of the challenges I am encountering is trusting emails and communications I get from "alleged" Translation agencies. I am always afraid that it might be a scam and I feel specially cautious to send important information such as social security number when required to fill out W9 forms.

Even though I don't reply to certain emails that are obviously suspicious (lots of misspells, no contact information, no project specifics, etc), I am wondering if I will miss many opportunities because of the tendency to think it could be a scam.

Any words of advice or opinions in this matter will be appreciated.
Collapse

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
German to English
Use the telephone Jul 8, 2014

There are very simple steps to protect yourself in the US.

Any legitimate agency should be willing to provide you a street address and telephone number. In most cities in the US, you should be able to use Google street view to see whether the address provided is an office building, an empty lot or a junkyard. A call to a real agency should be answered professionally, not with just "hello."

There is no need to fill out a W-9 until a job is offered.

Michelle Kusuda
Michelle Kusuda  Identity Verified
United States
English to Spanish
+ ...