I wonder why we were chosen to receive this email
Thread poster: Oliver Walter

Oliver Walter  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:53
Member (2005)
German to English
+ ...
Apr 13

Earlier today I received an email that I suppose was sent to many ProZ members because it was sent to me at an email address that I only use for ProZ. The subject was:
An imminent event is sending this stock price through the roof.

and it begins: "What if I told you that I know of a company that has actually found a cure for cancer."
and it ends:
"This is why I highly, highly recommend that you buy QSMG as soon as
you can today. Get in ahead of the herd."

A quick search of the web gave a result on a website called
which said (and it didn't surprise me):
"Email promoting Quest Management QSMG stock is a scam

April 11, 2017 by Craig Charles No Comments Yet

If you’ve received an email asking you to invest in stock called Quest Management (Symbol: QSMG) then before you get onto the phone with your broker, know that it’s part of something called a “pump and dump” scam."

This comment didn't surprise me.
I wonder whether you have comments on this or rushed out and bought the stock or decided quickly that it was some kind of scam.

FYI: from the IP address, it appears to have originated in India. (I examined the email header to find the originating IP address and then used http://en.utrace.de to tell me where that IP address is located.)

(I suppose it's possible my ProZ email address was used because it's on a list of email addresses used by spammers (I'm sure such lists exist), in which case not many of you will have received it).

Direct link Reply with quote

Mario Chavez  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:53
English to Spanish
+ ...

Despite using spam filters at my server and at my desktop email client, I still get crap like that. Best is never to answer it (because it will confirm they have a working email address), send to Junk, delete regularly and never let this kind of email waste more of your time.

Direct link Reply with quote

Oliver Walter  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:53
Member (2005)
German to English
+ ...
Yes, Mario Apr 13

Yes: as I sometimes say to people: Unfortunately, one's first reaction to any email must always be to ask "Is this really what it claims to be?". Looking convincing, with the logo of a bank or other company is no proof of validity.
Luckily (for me, at least, but apparently not to some people) I find it easy to recognise emails that are spam or phishing or have a virus in the attachment.
Sending a reply, even if it says "Don't send me such emails" should clearly not be done - the sender should receive no proof that you exist!

Direct link Reply with quote

Oriol Vives  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:53
Member (2009)
English to Catalan
+ ...
I got this too Apr 14

... and erased it right as it came.

Direct link Reply with quote

To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

Moderator(s) of this forum
Alejandro Cavalitto[Call to this topic]

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

I wonder why we were chosen to receive this email

Advanced search

Déjà Vu X3
Try it, Love it

Find out why Déjà Vu is today the most flexible, customizable and user-friendly tool on the market. See the brand new features in action: *Completely redesigned user interface *Live Preview *Inline spell checking *Inline

More info »
PerfectIt consistency checker
Faster Checking, Greater Accuracy

PerfectIt helps deliver error-free documents. It improves consistency, ensures quality and helps to enforce style guides. It’s a powerful tool for pro users, and comes with the assurance of a 30-day money back guarantee.

More info »

  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search